What models of controls are supported by FANUC FOCAS?

What control models are supported by FANUC FOCAS?

FANUC FOCAS has two types: FOCAS 1 and FOCAS 2.

FOCAS 2 is Ethernet and high-speed serial based and must be purchased from GE FANUC.

CNC Controls with FANUC FOCAS include series Oi, 15, 15i, 16, 16i, 18, 18i, 21, 21i, 30i, 31i, 32i and power mate i.

More info from our MTConnect page: FANUC FOCAS is a set of library files (.dll), that can be accessed by applications to retrieve most of the information inside of the CNC. The FANUC FOCAS function is normally accessed by using Ethernet or HSSB.

Common data that is available through the FOCAS are CNC state (running, idle, alarm), part count information, program name, number, size, and date modified, tool and work offsets, alarm number and text, feed overrides, parameters, positional data, spindle speed and modal data.

Below is a common list of controllers that would feature FOCAS. Older controls can have the embedded board retrofitted or added to the machine using the Data Server Board by contracting FANUC directly.

Uncommon Possible As Standard
Oi-B 16i-A 16i-B
16-A/B/C 18i-A 18i-B
18-A/B/C 21i-B 3xi-A
Oi-C 3xi-B

How can I check to see if I have FANUC FOCAS

In order to see if you have FANUC FOCAS available on your CNC, is to first check if you have Ethernet. To do that follow these steps:

  • Press the [SYSTEM] hard key
  • Press [>] approximately 5 times until you see *ETHEPRM*
  • Press [ETHRM] soft key, followed by [OPRT]
  • This will display the ethernet connections available
  • Select a connection (normally EMBEDD or BOARD)
  • Press the [DOWN] hard key. (page 2)
  • This should display FOCAS / ETHERNET

If those steps took you to the Ethernet page and/or the FOCAS page, then you’re good to go! Call us for more info.